• Welcome to Ecoboost Performance Forum. Please log in or sign up.
collapse

Misfire That I cannot seem to Fix. I TRIED! Also lunging RPMs.

Started by plymouth383, May 23, 2017, 02:54:11 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

plymouth383

so here is the situation. I own a 2011 Ford Flex Ecoboost. It has 130k miles on it. It has been great up to this point. I have had hardly any problems with it. I am a mechanic by trade and do all my own work on vehicles. this one has me puzzled though.

It is tuned from Torrie at Unleashed.
It has a 3 bar Map Sensor
180 degree thermostat

About 6 months ago it began to misfire. I have experienced the misfires before and usually it indicates plug time on these. also a few days later it started this fun little lunging thing where the rpms rise up and down while going down the road.

1. I ordered up a set of the sp534s and installed them at .030. thought all was well until a couple days later it started to misfire again. figured maybe it was a bad plug I got. so bought another set reinstalled still no help. 

2. figuring the mileage was high i did some research and came to the conclusion that possibly my intake valves are all coked up and needed to be cleaned. I pulled the intake apart and shot some walnut shells at the valves. The only ones that were truly really bad were the front two cylinders where the air tends to not hit directly. Got them all nice and clean.

3. I installed a brand new set of OEM injectors. I replaced all six. Figured while i have everything apart. old injectors looked good nothing to indicate a problem.

After reassembling everything I took it out for a test drive. Still misfiring. also still lunging. Now I was getting confused.