• Welcome to Ecoboost Performance Forum. Please log in or sign up.
collapse

*HOW-TO* 2013+ Brakes on a 2010-2012...THEY WORK!!

Started by timbo, December 27, 2015, 10:08:47 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

timbo

BLUF: Contrary to popular belief by people whom have never tried to fit these pieces yet insist upon stating things as fact, the front brakes from the 2013+ Taurus will work on the 2010-2012.  Makes it a great and easy upgrade.  I don't know the specifics as to when the brakes changed, but I think it was the 2013+ PP and all 14+ had 13.8" rotors.

Some background: I have a 2011 SHO and I haven't really posted on here since I'm not really modding my car too much.  In an effort to improve the weaknesses, mainly brakes, I have been researching all upgrades for the 2010-2012 (TCE, simply making my own Wilwood kit, or fitting the newer if it will work).  I did the 2013+ Master Cylinder and Booster about a year ago and that helped, but I have overheated 3 sets of stock brakes (covered under warranty) in the first 3 months of owning the car.  Upgraded to Powerstop rotors and ceramic pads, which helped the higher temp, but still would get too hot.  Finally, I ended up finding the front rotors and brackets for the 2013+ really cheap and decided to give them a test fit.  All of my searching was done using the 2014 MY to ensure I was getting everything correct.  After finding the bracket fits right on with the correct clearance on the rotor, I ended up looking for the rest.  Found the rest at RockAuto.

Size comparison 10-12/13+:
Front rotors: 12.8"(325mm)x1.1" / 13.8"(350mm)x1.25"
Rear rotors: 13"x0.4" solid / 13.5"x.75" vented
Caliper difference is negligible.  Piston size is the same 47.5mm (x2) front and 43mm rear.

So here is the breakdown of the parts, tools and a how to guide.