• Welcome to Ecoboost Performance Forum. Please log in or sign up.
collapse

For the Flex guys/gals - Subwoofer boxes in stealth locations

Started by Lanson, February 27, 2014, 11:46:03 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Lanson

Hi y'all,

Some know that I am a hobbyist audio builder and I definitely enjoy conjuring up unique designs when time permits.  I've been working with another Flex member and have come up with a few different sub box designs ideas I'd like to share.  My goal here is to offer up some ideas for hidden sub boxes and for those that would like me to fabricate one for them, I can possibly provide that as well.  I'm working on prototypes but I've modeled them in Sketchup for a baseline design, to make sure I'm able to even build it.

First design is one that can fit behind the 2nd row seats, in the floorwell of the 3rd row.  The box design allows the seats to flip and fold per normal.  The only space taken is the floor room back there, so either you'd keep car seats with little kids back there, or you could pull the box quickly for adults if you ever have them in those 3rd row seats. 

Here's a rough 3D model that I uploaded of my design plan.  It holds an 8" sub.

A pair of these boxes could be implemented:

I've also got a side-firing single large box I'm working on, no pics on that yet (too ugly.)

Another box is a spare tire well box.  I made my own box for my own Flex out of fiberglass, but the cost of materials and time to make something like that is prohibitive for most.  As a result, I have been working with wood on a new design, which uses a geometrically perfect shape that the spare tire well actually turns out to be.  Looks a little like this