• Welcome to Ecoboost Performance Forum. Please log in or sign up.
collapse

A Couple of Questions For Livernois Please

Started by BiGMaC, November 27, 2013, 04:31:27 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

BiGMaC

Hi Randy,

First ... Thanks to livernois and all the staff there for supporting this forum!

I have a 2013 SHO non-PP (but added back all I could individually, I'm in AZ and plan on a tune in the next few months.  I have read the info on your website... but still remain a little confused.   I am a newbie to electronic tuning... so please answer as you would a complete idiot so I'll understand.  Thanks.

On the Mycalibr8tor tuning page for my car:
http://www.livernoismotorsports.com/products/AIW-2013-Taurus-SHO-MyCalibr8or-Tuning-Device.html above the standard disclaimer it says, "For the 2013+ Taurus, only the Non-Touch MyCal is compatible. We offer no tuning for the SCT or Touch Screen MyCal for these cars. Also, our performance tune for these is most closely compared to our 4Plus tune."

Is this is reference to the SCT or touch screen models only?  Does this just mean no custom tunes on these platforms?.. Are the Stage 1-5 all available for the MyCal tuner?

Can you tell me more about XV1 and the anticipated strategy in the tune... should I wait on it?

What are the pros and cons of the different tuners? Do any have to remain attached to the car after the ECU is flashed?

I'm a Mac guy (write software cross platform for a living)... Do I need to get a widows-based laptop? ...OR... Will the program run in an emulator like Parallels desktop or a bootcamp partition with windows on my mac?

I'll have other questions but I don't want to go to 4+ given the "use at your own risk" disclaimer, can't get better than 91 octane without mixing avgas and unleaded, and have to use the car as a daily driver.... but I want the car to be real fun to drive and I love surprising folks at the stoplight!

Thanks and Happy Thanksgiving