• Welcome to Ecoboost Performance Forum. Please log in or sign up.
collapse

Why bigger turbos make more power than stock turbos at same PSI

Started by EcoPowerParts, November 05, 2013, 09:02:36 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

EcoPowerParts

I'm using someone else's post referring to a stock turbo vs a GT35r but the technical basis is the same:
Taken from http://www.e90post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=401958

The debate regarding this topic has come up over and over again in various forums, but I have yet to see a satisfactory explanation other than "big turbo flows more air at given psi". So I am going to attempt to explain this phenomenon while trying to include real world variables such as turbine backpressure, CFM, compressor efficiency, etc.

Now I am not an engineer with a degree in thermodynamics or mechanical theory, so while I believe my rationale is close to the truth, I don't believe it to be the absolute truth. So feel free to correct me or add as you wish.

For simplicity sake, let's say we have an n55 engine, GT35r and n55 stock single turbo in this comparison. As everyone knows, turbo has two main components: compressor and turbine. Let's break it down into components and evaluate it separately.

Compressor:
The GT35r compressor is larger than n55 stock turbo's. This means GT35r's compressor has greater surface area. Let's assume that two compressors are rotating at identical speed, let's say 25,000 rotations per minute. The compressor with larger surface area will obviously move higher volume of air than the smaller compressor. Also, while doing this, the work done by the larger compressor is translated into heat in lesser degree than the smaller compressor, thus giving it higher efficiency.

CFM: (cubic feet per minute)