• Welcome to Ecoboost Performance Forum. Please log in or sign up.
collapse

Just did a compression test...

Started by Agentlongwood, December 31, 2019, 03:49:58 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Agentlongwood

I've never done one before, and wanted to double check my work here with yall.  I got really consistent readings, between about 180 and 190 on all 6 cylinders.  I actually thought it was supposed to be like 120, so I wanted to check with some folks who know more than I do  (you guys, lol).  I pulled all 6 spark plugs, and the intake so I could wedge the throttle body wide open.  Then I put the compression tester in, put the throttle pedal to the floor and pushed the start button.  I let it turn over about 5 times and stopped it manually.  If I let it go, it would try to turn over for what felt like too many turns.  I got out checked the gauge, reset it, and moved on to the next cylinder.  Does all that sound accurate, and seem correct?
2014 Lincoln MKS - Sold... And I still miss it sometimes

ZSHO

Compression Test

Make sure the oil in the crankcase is of the correct viscosity and at the correct level and that the battery is correctly charged. Operate the vehicle until the engine is at normal operating temperature. Turn the ignition switch to the OFF position, then remove all the spark plugs.
Set the throttle plates in the wide-open position.
Install a compression gauge in the No. 1 cylinder.

Install an auxiliary starter switch in the starting circuit. With the ignition switch in the OFF position, and using the auxiliary starter switch, crank the engine a minimum of 5 compression strokes and record the highest reading. Note the approximate number of compression strokes necessary to obtain the highest reading.
Repeat the test on each cylinder, cranking the engine approximately the same number of compression strokes.