• Welcome to Ecoboost Performance Forum. Please log in or sign up.
collapse

Smoking from bad turbo

Started by Spyder3000gtvr4, September 06, 2018, 03:50:44 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Spyder3000gtvr4

So I bought an Sho a few months back with "bad turbos" The car was smoking like crazy I had to drive it home about a mile from where the car carrier had to drop it off. I bought a set of used turbos (was under the impression they were new) off eBay. I'm not a turbo expert but the turbos seemed good. So I swapped out the turbos with new gaskets and decided to change all the fluids. Rear, put, trans, rad, oil. I did get a little on the exhaust. I just took the car out for a test drive and the smoking is horrible. Anybody have any idea how long it will take to work the oil out of the exhaust?
Kik: Spyder3000gtvr4

Got my Sho deciding to make it a DD or use it for my tube chassis build :)

SHOdded

:o  Are you sure there isn't any leak at this point?  seems like a lot of oil got into the cats, so it could take a few days of a good amount of driving to burn it all off.  Hopefully the cats survive the process!  Also check the o2 sensors, they might be coated in oil if the leak is upstream.
2007 Ford Edge SEL, Powerstop F/R Brake Kit, TXT LED 6000K Lo & Hi Beams, W16W LED Reverse Bulbs, 3BSpec 2.5w Map Lights, 5W Cree rear dome lights, 5W Cree cargo light, DTBL LED Taillights

If tuned:  Take note of the strategy code as you return to stock (including 3 bar MAP to 2 bar MAP) -> take car in & get it serviced -> check strategy code when you get car back -> have tuner update your tune if the strategy code has changed -> reload tune -> ENJOY!

Spyder3000gtvr4