• Welcome to Ecoboost Performance Forum. Please log in or sign up.
collapse

Need a bit of help with catch can details.

Started by Agentlongwood, March 19, 2018, 08:52:34 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Agentlongwood

I picked up an awesome catch can from ZSHO (thanks again man, you rock!), and now I'm getting into hooking the thing up.  I bought the kit incomplete to save a few bucks, and I've run into a couple issues.  The kits on the RX website have what look like barb fittings on the top of the can.  The one I bought has a fitting type that I am not familiar with.  Call me dumb, but I've never used this type of connector before. 

Anyone know what size lines these require?  I tried test fitting a section of clear 3/8" inside 1/2" outside diameter hose and that seems to fit... But any 3/8" fuel tubing I find has too thick an outside diameter to fit in the section of these suckers that I removed in the second pic.  I'm tempted to leave that piece off and jam the lines onto the threaded section and put a clamp on it.  Is that too awful? 

Second issue.  What size hose connects to the PCV fittings on the valve cover and intake manifold?  I've seen some sources say 1/2" and some say 5/8".  I can't cut the hose off of my PCV fittings to test fit because I need to keep driving the car around town to buy the hoses and fittings, lol.  Once I have all the pieces I need, I can get the install done, all in one shot.  Any help would be greatly appreciated.
2014 Lincoln MKS - Sold... And I still miss it sometimes

Agentlongwood

This dude just used 1/2" hose for everything.  No need to go to 3/8" or use 5/8"s for the PCV connectors.  It is on an ecoboost F-150 though.  Are the PCV connectors different size on that application? 

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=v6h_FOzFMcs&t=1737s

ZSHO

Glad it made it safe and sound..  :) The connectors are top of the line upgraded con which are compatible with steel braided hoses IIRC..
I will provide you with some more info soon.  Z