• Welcome to Ecoboost Performance Forum. Please log in or sign up.
collapse

Newby Questions

Started by PDSHO, November 12, 2017, 08:19:49 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

PDSHO

Hello, I have a 2013 Police Taurus with EB engine 135K mi.
The power seems strong, however sometimes I hear a squeal that sounds like a belt slipping at WOT. Not every time, no CEL.
I also sometimes think I hear air leaking at sporting throttle (not WOT) and hear a little poof of air when I let off the gas. Is that normal wastegate opening?
My only turbo experience is my stock 2007 LBZ Duramax, that seems to just spool up and down in a predictable way.
I have no experience with small twin turbos so go gentle on me!
Greg
2013 Taurus Police Interceptor. AWD, Eco-Boost. SOLD
2015 Lincoln Navigator L, 4x4, Eco-Boost.
2016 Taurus Police Interceptor, Eco-Boost
2014 Lincoln MKS Eco-Boost

Jordan

The squeal could be a belt slipping. Might check and see if it has decent tension on it. And when you hear a little poof of air after acceleration that is your wastegate opening. You are on it on that one!
World's Fastest SHO Ecoboost July 2019 - Current

2020 Power Numbers - 536AWHP/647Torque

PDSHO

I looked from the top and didn't see a belt, it must be accessible from underneath. I will check tomorrow.
Greg

Jordan

I am new to the cars as well so I am not sure where the squeal could be from. Someone should chime in I am assuming and let you know if there is anything to look at specifically.
World's Fastest SHO Ecoboost July 2019 - Current

2020 Power Numbers - 536AWHP/647Torque

SHOdded

Could be a belt slipping, but more likely bov/wastegate related.  Reason i say this is that some tunes can make the bov sound like geese honking - no joke.  You can log to see if you are losing boost perchance.  May be a broken seal contributing to the situation.