• Welcome to Ecoboost Performance Forum. Please log in or sign up.
collapse

Livernois Motorsports catted downpipes will NOT pass state inspection

Started by Kcope2006, January 16, 2017, 06:20:43 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Kcope2006

First let me say I am new to performance upgrades and tuning vehicles. I have a '12 F150 Ecoboost and had been wanting to install some upgrades to tap into the power the Ecoboost engine can offer.
After doing some research and talking extensively to a coworker of mine who lives and breathes Ford racing (Specifically working on any one of his 3 Mustangs) I decided to go with Livernois. I bought their "stage 2+" package which includes high flow air intake, new modular intake tube, new thermostat and CATTED DOWNPIPES.
This idea originally came to mind because my factory driver side cat was no longer functioning and I needed to replace my downpipes so I decided I may as well upgrade!

Come to find out my factory cat had gone bad because I had a misfire in cylinder 1; I installed the Livernois components with a new coil for cylinder 1 and all 6 new spark plugs and everything was running great.

Then it came time for my state inspection. I already had several hundred miles on the truck after the repair and install so I took it to the local state inspection shop and it failed because the catalyst and O2 sensors were "not ready". After calling Livernois I learned that they turn off the rear O2 sensors in their tune so they will never reach the "ready" state.

What blows my mind is why would an aftermarket manufacturer sell a catted downpipe if they're going to bypass the rear O2 sensor? There were no disclaimers or statements on the Livernois website and I even called and spoke with someone before ordering the parts and it never came up. Shame on me for not asking the right question but that still pisses me off they would offer/sell a catted down pipe that won't pass inspection requirements.