• Welcome to Ecoboost Performance Forum. Please log in or sign up.
collapse

High beams wont work. 9 out of 10 times...

Started by Kolk1, November 26, 2016, 09:55:50 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Kolk1

Nothing has changed in my settings, I dont use auto off high beams, havent replaced the battery, had this car over 4 years now, and over 100k miles now as well.

If I sit there and flash my high beams, they will only come on maybe once or twice out of 10 flashes. It happens to both lights, so its not just one is sticking. Dash says they are on(but they arent). I drove for awhile with them ON (but off) and they came back on a couple minutes later.

I havent dug into the car yet, but it obviously cant be a fuse or it would never work. Unless a relay is starting to fail to cause it to work intermittently, but that seems unlikely.

I do vehicle electronics for a living, but im just curious if anybody has seen this before, and what their solution was, before I dig in to it. Thanks.

Gjkrisa

Seems like the solenoid is sticky.

Sent from my Nexus 6P using Tapatalk

2016 Taurus SHO pp Shadow Black
diy emblems,jms boost max, FORscan modder

Kolk1

but do you have 2 solenoids, one on each side? They both work/dont work at the same time.

SHOdded

Any other issues?  I would suspect the multifunction switch first, myself, then possibly the highbeam control module for the auto highbeams.  Each HID headlamp has its' own solenoid.
2007 Ford Edge SEL, Powerstop F/R Brake Kit, TXT LED 6000K Lo & Hi Beams, W16W LED Reverse Bulbs, 3BSpec 2.5w Map Lights, 5W Cree rear dome lights, 5W Cree cargo light, DTBL LED Taillights

If tuned:  Take note of the strategy code as you return to stock (including 3 bar MAP to 2 bar MAP) -> take car in & get it serviced -> check strategy code when you get car back -> have tuner update your tune if the strategy code has changed -> reload tune -> ENJOY!

Dxlnt1