• Welcome to Ecoboost Performance Forum. Please log in or sign up.
collapse

Muffler shop said issue - does the forum agree

Started by m3dragon, July 27, 2016, 04:01:11 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

m3dragon

I went to my local muffler shop to have an exhaust put on. When they took it apart they said it did not look right. I added pictures below. They said there was to much " carbon build up". It s a engine so there will be some DUH. They seem to think the 3.5 was a partial zero emission motor. My understanding it is not.

They also said it looks off as in front of the secondary cats there was "metal particles. There looks to be some based on seeing some shinny specs. Again I say it is normal.

Car has 44k and was from Michigan. Motor and software are all stock. No engine lights and getting what is stated mileage for the car. VIN check shows no recalls.

As I am new to ECO boost world, making sure what I believe is ok and don't need to go to Ford. I have called my dealer and they of course are going to charge me unless their is a issue then they will cover it. Concern being they will say normal and be out 175 bucks for nothing.

Thoughts as to me looks normal

bpd1151

Normal.

Direct injection dumps more than average carbon soot out the tail.

Not qualified to diagnosis what you describe as "shiny metal pieces" observed, but the carbon is normal.

Sent from my SM-N920V using Tapatalk

sholxgt

I just changed the down pipes on my car and the originals looked the same as yours as far as the soot goes.  Funny thing is the exhaust on my catless Powerstroke diesel looked about the same.  "Eco" may not be the right name for these motors.  LOL

Not sure about the shiny parts, but I personally wouldn't take it in if it's running fine.
Current - 2019 F150 Platinum FX4 3.5 EB
Formerly -2013 MKS Ecoboost Premium
PPE Catted DP's, 170 Reische TS, K&N Drop In, AJP Tune only at track - 12.87@106

FoMoCoSHO

They said its a PZEV?