• Welcome to Ecoboost Performance Forum. Please log in or sign up.
collapse

"How- to" Access Advanced Ford PIDs Using a Scan Tool

Started by breeves002, July 18, 2013, 04:04:08 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

breeves002

I'm an administrator over on Taurusclub.com, and many of you probably know me! I wanted to share this info with other Ford owners! I'll add more as I learn more. It's about CAN basically. Thanks for reading!

So for the few of you that care about this, I decided to modify a cheap ELM327 clone to read both MS and HS-CAN data. Normally ELM327 can only read HS-CAN data. This writeup will show you how to modify an ELM327 device so it will read MS-CAN.

Thanks to tech advisor behlinla for his help in teaching me some of this info and editing the article!

Info on CAN bus:

Note: Only 2004+ vehicles will have CAN bus (basically if you have digital display in your instrument cluster).  OBD-II cars before that used the SAE J1850 PWM protocol, which will still work with FORscan.

Now some of you may be asking: "What in the heck is this guy talking about... MS and HS-CAN???"  CAN stands for Controller Area Network, and it's a digital network that connects different modules in your car much like computers would be connected to a network (LAN) in your home or workplace.  Accessing the data and self-tests on this network will be useful if you want to troubleshoot problems with something other than the engine (like with the ABS or air bags for example).  In the past you used to have to buy very expensive scan tools and software to view this data, but now you can can have this information at your fingertips for as little as $10!