• Welcome to Ecoboost Performance Forum. Please log in or sign up.
collapse

3.5 EB Swap into 99 Mustang racecar

Started by aj hartman, February 07, 2016, 05:01:38 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

aj hartman

So I finally picked up a 3.5L Ecoboost from a totaled F150. 12000 miles. And an MT82 transmission from a 3.7L Mustang. I need to start a spread sheet for part numbers since my car will be a hodge-podge of newer mustang parts, in a 99 chassis. I got a Spec Stage 1 clutch and aluminum flywheel as well with some other misc bits to convert my car to hydraulic clutch. The throwout bearing/slave cylinder should work but have to confirm that still. It looks like it will at the moment. I got a master cylinder from a newer mustang (new) that I will fabricate some brackets to actuate it all. Initial test fit went well. It clears the steering shaft. The drivers side turbo is where it gets really tight. I still have the ball/socket exhaust flange on it, with about 8" of the truck exhaust still on it. The picture is of it just sitting in there with a spacer between the oil pan and stock K member. So that why it looks a little crooked. I also weighed the engine and trans along with my old 4.6 engine and trans.

3.5L ecoboost= 426 lbs. No oil, wire harness or clutch/flywheel
mt82= 130 lbs
4.6 2v iron block,clutch/flywheel, t45 transmission= 658lbs.

What the car looked like last season:
11154596_10205488522244904_4222928544865773681_o by AJ Hartman, on Flickr

So I'm ahead by about 100lbs, but its not quite apples to apples. Gotta add for wire harness, clutch/flywheel, and the additional intake tubing over a NA setup. I should loose 50lbs total, but more of that is over the nose, since the new trans in heavier than the old.

IMG_3759 by AJ Hartman, on Flickr