• Welcome to Ecoboost Performance Forum. Please log in or sign up.
collapse

Rear Diff Drain plug

Started by bamsho, March 05, 2016, 03:51:06 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

bamsho

Well I've been working on this project here.  Every since I sucked out the rear diff fluid out of my '12 last fall, which was a pain in the butt.  So I been brainstorming about away to put a drain plug in.  So I remembered an old episode on Powernation about how they put one in.  So I did it and FYI, I'm not a professional welder and using a Harbor freight 110V mig welder, so yes the welds are very UGLY.  I used little JB Weld to help it look better.  I took the cover to work and put some thin oil we use on the presses to do my final check for leaks, after 8 hours of oil sitting in the cover, NO LEAKS!!  So going to install the cover on my '13 this week when the weather gets nicer.

2013 white Gen 5.  Gearhead Intercooler, Turbosmart wastegate actuators, Alky Controls meth kit, Livernois catted downpipes,  Livernois Corsa cat back black etched tips.  2016 True Street Champion.

SHOdded

For those wanting a video on how to do this:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=21CvanhKILA

Tighten the bolts to 23 Nm (17 lb-ft), and the filler plug to 29 Nm (21 lb-ft).
2007 Ford Edge SEL, Powerstop F/R Brake Kit, TXT LED 6000K Lo & Hi Beams, W16W LED Reverse Bulbs, 3BSpec 2.5w Map Lights, 5W Cree rear dome lights, 5W Cree cargo light, DTBL LED Taillights

If tuned:  Take note of the strategy code as you return to stock (including 3 bar MAP to 2 bar MAP) -> take car in & get it serviced -> check strategy code when you get car back -> have tuner update your tune if the strategy code has changed -> reload tune -> ENJOY!

nickstewartroc