July 20, 2019, 12:29:51 AM
collapse
collapse

Author Topic: Torque PIDs...Take 2  (Read 280266 times)

Offline jman

  • Full Member
  • : Ontario
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 25
  • -Received: 25
  • Posts: 78
  • Ecobooster
Re: Torque PIDs...Take 2
« Reply #765 on: May 22, 2019, 08:40:33 AM »
I was recently looking for a way to detect knock and was pointed to this awesome thread. I followed the instructions and installed four of the custom PID's. Most don't work and the AWD one throws a constant value. What am I missing?
I have not read all 51 pages of this thread, do these work on the 2010 SHO?

Attached are pics of what I am seeing and what I get when I "test" the Knock PID.

2010 - Unleashed Tune - Corsa Exhaust - 275/40-R20 - H&R Springs

Offline ecoboostsho

  • Forum Supporter!
  • Elite Member
  • : Minneapolis, MN
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 182
  • -Received: 239
  • Posts: 935
  • Ecobooster
Re: Torque PIDs...Take 2
« Reply #766 on: May 22, 2019, 08:47:44 AM »
I was recently looking for a way to detect knock and was pointed to this awesome thread. I followed the instructions and installed four of the custom PID's. Most don't work and the AWD one throws a constant value. What am I missing?
I have not read all 51 pages of this thread, do these work on the 2010 SHO?

Attached are pics of what I am seeing and what I get when I "test" the Knock PID.
It should definitely work on a 2010 Taurus. I'm assuming you can get the standard gauges (say like (RPM) to respond? I just want to make sure your adapter is actually talking to the car properly.  Also can you send a screenshot of your custom pid screen in Torque? Just close that error message window for starters.

Sent from my Pixel 3 XL using Tapatalk

2013 White SHO w/PP, Tune with AJP in progress, 3 Bar, 160T, Plugs...Mess with the Bull and you'll get the Horn. :)
 Previous 2011 Tuxedo Black SHO w/PP - 12.89 1/4 Mile

Offline jman

  • Full Member
  • : Ontario
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 25
  • -Received: 25
  • Posts: 78
  • Ecobooster
Re: Torque PIDs...Take 2
« Reply #767 on: May 22, 2019, 09:10:28 AM »
All built-in Torque Real Time Monitoring gauges work.

The AWD one throws a number, but why is it always at 50.4?

Attached is a pic of the Knock PID.

Thanks !

2010 - Unleashed Tune - Corsa Exhaust - 275/40-R20 - H&R Springs

Offline SM105K

  • Elite Member
  • : Arizona
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 525
  • -Received: 586
  • Posts: 709
  • Land Yacht Pilot
Re: Torque PIDs...Take 2
« Reply #768 on: May 22, 2019, 09:22:28 AM »
Jman,

adjust your minimum value to -7.0

adjust your maximum value to 7.0

make sure your scale factor is x1

then test
2013 SHO PP: AJPTurbo E30 Tune, GH Intercooler, Dicunzolo Gen2 Trans Mounts, UPR Catch Can, H&R Springs, Power Stop Brakes. Tune Only: 12.56@108.98, 391HP and 470TQ

2013 Focus ST: Ford Racing Tune, Boomba BOV, and Short Shifter.

Offline Gjkrisa

  • Elite Member
  • : Fairbanks, AK
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 903
  • -Received: 184
  • Posts: 792
  • Ecobooster
    • Photos
Re: Torque PIDs...Take 2
« Reply #769 on: May 22, 2019, 10:17:30 AM »
All built-in Torque Real Time Monitoring gauges work.

The AWD one throws a number, but why is it always at 50.4?

Attached is a pic of the Knock PID.

Thanks !
I see that's for knock and your main issue was with awd I believe just making sure your scale factor is 1x should fix the issue that's how mine is and works

Sent from my Pixel 2 XL using Tapatalk

2016 Taurus SHO pp Shadow Black
diy emblems,jms boost max, FORscan modder

Offline ecoboostsho

  • Forum Supporter!
  • Elite Member
  • : Minneapolis, MN
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 182
  • -Received: 239
  • Posts: 935
  • Ecobooster
Re: Torque PIDs...Take 2
« Reply #770 on: May 22, 2019, 10:55:06 AM »
All built-in Torque Real Time Monitoring gauges work.

The AWD one throws a number, but why is it always at 50.4?

Attached is a pic of the Knock PID.

Thanks !
If the previous suggestions don't work just delete your equation and temporarily put in an A for your equation. You should at least get a value back that is non scaled. That will help narrow down the problem for me...

Sent from my Pixel 3 XL using Tapatalk

2013 White SHO w/PP, Tune with AJP in progress, 3 Bar, 160T, Plugs...Mess with the Bull and you'll get the Horn. :)
 Previous 2011 Tuxedo Black SHO w/PP - 12.89 1/4 Mile

Offline jman

  • Full Member
  • : Ontario
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 25
  • -Received: 25
  • Posts: 78
  • Ecobooster
Re: Torque PIDs...Take 2
« Reply #771 on: May 22, 2019, 11:15:15 AM »
I changed the scale limits and verified that all PID's are set at x1. Still no luck.
I'll try deleting the equation and report back,

Here are some additional pics and also the Bluetooth thingy I am using. As you can see, built-in Torque ones do work.

« Last Edit: May 22, 2019, 11:20:13 AM by jman »

2010 - Unleashed Tune - Corsa Exhaust - 275/40-R20 - H&R Springs

Offline jman

  • Full Member
  • : Ontario
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 25
  • -Received: 25
  • Posts: 78
  • Ecobooster
Re: Torque PIDs...Take 2
« Reply #772 on: May 22, 2019, 05:02:07 PM »
If the previous suggestions don't work just delete your equation and temporarily put in an A for your equation. You should at least get a value back that is non scaled. That will help narrow down the problem for me...

Sent from my Pixel 3 XL using Tapatalk

Replaced the Knock equation with an A, same response when tested: NO DATA.


2010 - Unleashed Tune - Corsa Exhaust - 275/40-R20 - H&R Springs

Offline ecoboostsho

  • Forum Supporter!
  • Elite Member
  • : Minneapolis, MN
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 182
  • -Received: 239
  • Posts: 935
  • Ecobooster
Re: Torque PIDs...Take 2
« Reply #773 on: May 22, 2019, 05:05:54 PM »
If the previous suggestions don't work just delete your equation and temporarily put in an A for your equation. You should at least get a value back that is non scaled. That will help narrow down the problem for me...

Sent from my Pixel 3 XL using Tapatalk

Replaced the Knock equation with an A, same response when tested: NO DATA.
Okay well then something isn't communicating with the car properly or the pid is wrong somehow for your car. It looks like it but that is "zero" in the 2203EC correct? It's been a long time since I messed with torque pro (I use obdlink) so I don't think it matters but try a capital EC just for fun. Also what is in your header field?

Sent from my Pixel 3 XL using Tapatalk
2013 White SHO w/PP, Tune with AJP in progress, 3 Bar, 160T, Plugs...Mess with the Bull and you'll get the Horn. :)
 Previous 2011 Tuxedo Black SHO w/PP - 12.89 1/4 Mile

Offline jman

  • Full Member
  • : Ontario
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 25
  • -Received: 25
  • Posts: 78
  • Ecobooster
Re: Torque PIDs...Take 2
« Reply #774 on: May 22, 2019, 05:12:42 PM »
Yes, two, two, zero, three.
I've tried uppercase before, it auto turns back to lower case.
Header is blank.
« Last Edit: May 22, 2019, 05:14:29 PM by jman »

2010 - Unleashed Tune - Corsa Exhaust - 275/40-R20 - H&R Springs

Offline ecoboostsho

  • Forum Supporter!
  • Elite Member
  • : Minneapolis, MN
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 182
  • -Received: 239
  • Posts: 935
  • Ecobooster
Re: Torque PIDs...Take 2
« Reply #775 on: May 22, 2019, 05:31:00 PM »
Yes, two, two, zero, three.
I've tried uppercase before, it auto turns back to lower case.
Header is blank.
Okay just checking. Try using AUTO in the header. If that doesn't work I'm stumped unfortunately. I would try a different app just to see if it's something weird in your Installation of torque.

Sent from my Pixel 3 XL using Tapatalk

2013 White SHO w/PP, Tune with AJP in progress, 3 Bar, 160T, Plugs...Mess with the Bull and you'll get the Horn. :)
 Previous 2011 Tuxedo Black SHO w/PP - 12.89 1/4 Mile

Offline jman

  • Full Member
  • : Ontario
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 25
  • -Received: 25
  • Posts: 78
  • Ecobooster
Re: Torque PIDs...Take 2
« Reply #776 on: May 23, 2019, 07:12:50 AM »
Neither the "A" or the "auto" fixed it. :(
Weird thing is that the AWD does return a value (steady 50.4) but all others don't.

When I was playing with Forscan I read that the 2010 doesn't have a BCM (or cannot be accessed), could this be why?

2010 - Unleashed Tune - Corsa Exhaust - 275/40-R20 - H&R Springs

Offline ecoboostsho

  • Forum Supporter!
  • Elite Member
  • : Minneapolis, MN
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 182
  • -Received: 239
  • Posts: 935
  • Ecobooster
Re: Torque PIDs...Take 2
« Reply #777 on: May 23, 2019, 07:47:24 AM »
Neither the "A" or the "auto" fixed it. :(
Weird thing is that the AWD does return a value (steady 50.4) but all others don't.

When I was playing with Forscan I read that the 2010 doesn't have a BCM (or cannot be accessed), could this be why?
Well on the 2010-12 there is a smart junction box (SJB) on the MSCAN bus and not a BCM on the HSCAN bus.  First your adapter has to have the ability to speak MSCAN (medium speed CAN bus) and second Torque can't (to my knowledge) access both the MSCAN bus and HSCAN bus at the same time.  That said if I recall correctly the AWD gauge is actually reading the AWD module (not a SJB or BCM) and that is why the header needs to be "761" for that gauge. 
2013 White SHO w/PP, Tune with AJP in progress, 3 Bar, 160T, Plugs...Mess with the Bull and you'll get the Horn. :)
 Previous 2011 Tuxedo Black SHO w/PP - 12.89 1/4 Mile

 

* Featured Topics

* Recent Topics

Re: What have you done to your Ecoboosted vehicle today?
by MKS Tom | July 19, 2019, 11:08:07 PM
Is it possible to get into the 10s?  I mean, ANYTHING is possible...
Re: Any roofers?
by FoMoCoSHO | July 19, 2019, 07:35:39 PM
Home inspectors, jack of all trades master of none.It needs sisters......
Re: Inferred Octane
by FoMoCoSHO | July 19, 2019, 06:10:48 PM
Is OAR another way of displaying inferred octane? Or is more of an ind...
Re: Random thoughts for the day
by SHOdded | July 19, 2019, 04:06:00 PM
Big moves :)...
Re: I-G35!
by shoNoff | July 19, 2019, 01:35:44 PM
Good idea on the roof. Car looks awesome. It amazes me how up to date ...
Re: Queens addition
by Dxlnt1 | July 19, 2019, 01:01:26 PM
RIP to the goat! Pure Pontiac muscle. Another true sleeper car that on...
Re: Yet another failure
by polskifacet | July 18, 2019, 05:20:16 PM
There are 1000s of diffs because the "carrier" is the same a...
Re: rough idle no accel response and P0087 code
by Livernois Motorsports | July 18, 2019, 02:10:28 PM
That is excellent news!  Glad to hear that module did the trick.&...
Re: A sad, sad day in the history of my SHO.....
by TopherSho | July 18, 2019, 09:00:24 AM
I have a few more things to add, I have read this whole tread many tim...
Re: Random questions and shameless plug
by Black Dream | July 17, 2019, 07:48:34 PM
I haven't dug any deeper yet.  I bought new headlight bulbs ...
Re: Saw a Potential Upgraded Transmission on FB
by JagerBomb | July 17, 2019, 12:42:16 PM
Just to update, N. O. fell off facebook and had a falling out with oth...
Re: Taurus sho trans upgrade
by JagerBomb | July 17, 2019, 12:38:59 PM
Is there any company working on performance upgrades for the 6f55? Sen...
Re: "How-To" wire up a switch so you can manually turn the fans on - Kolk1
by TimmyATL | July 17, 2019, 08:55:55 AM
Yall might want look at the wiring diagram for the cooling fans. On my...
Re: AWD off message on long drive
by SHOdded | July 16, 2019, 04:52:53 PM
If the tires prove out then yes it would seem.  Or maybe the not ...
Re: Change out headlamp bulb - MKS vs SHO???
by Simonsays | July 15, 2019, 06:12:03 PM
My mks had torx screws holding it in as I have adaptive turn lights. I...

Back to top