August 21, 2019, 12:03:42 AM
collapse
collapse

Author Topic: Torque PIDs...Take 2  (Read 283307 times)

Offline jman

  • Full Member
  • : Ontario
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 25
  • -Received: 25
  • Posts: 79
  • Ecobooster
Re: Torque PIDs...Take 2
« Reply #765 on: May 22, 2019, 08:40:33 AM »
I was recently looking for a way to detect knock and was pointed to this awesome thread. I followed the instructions and installed four of the custom PID's. Most don't work and the AWD one throws a constant value. What am I missing?
I have not read all 51 pages of this thread, do these work on the 2010 SHO?

Attached are pics of what I am seeing and what I get when I "test" the Knock PID.

2010 - Unleashed Tune - Corsa Exhaust - 275/40-R20 - H&R Springs

Offline ecoboostsho

  • Forum Supporter!
  • Elite Member
  • : Minneapolis, MN
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 183
  • -Received: 239
  • Posts: 935
  • Ecobooster
Re: Torque PIDs...Take 2
« Reply #766 on: May 22, 2019, 08:47:44 AM »
I was recently looking for a way to detect knock and was pointed to this awesome thread. I followed the instructions and installed four of the custom PID's. Most don't work and the AWD one throws a constant value. What am I missing?
I have not read all 51 pages of this thread, do these work on the 2010 SHO?

Attached are pics of what I am seeing and what I get when I "test" the Knock PID.
It should definitely work on a 2010 Taurus. I'm assuming you can get the standard gauges (say like (RPM) to respond? I just want to make sure your adapter is actually talking to the car properly.  Also can you send a screenshot of your custom pid screen in Torque? Just close that error message window for starters.

Sent from my Pixel 3 XL using Tapatalk

2013 White SHO w/PP, Tune with AJP in progress, 3 Bar, 160T, Plugs...Mess with the Bull and you'll get the Horn. :)
 Previous 2011 Tuxedo Black SHO w/PP - 12.89 1/4 Mile

Offline jman

  • Full Member
  • : Ontario
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 25
  • -Received: 25
  • Posts: 79
  • Ecobooster
Re: Torque PIDs...Take 2
« Reply #767 on: May 22, 2019, 09:10:28 AM »
All built-in Torque Real Time Monitoring gauges work.

The AWD one throws a number, but why is it always at 50.4?

Attached is a pic of the Knock PID.

Thanks !

2010 - Unleashed Tune - Corsa Exhaust - 275/40-R20 - H&R Springs

Offline SM105K

  • Elite Member
  • : Arizona
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 585
  • -Received: 704
  • Posts: 813
  • Land Yacht Pilot
Re: Torque PIDs...Take 2
« Reply #768 on: May 22, 2019, 09:22:28 AM »
Jman,

adjust your minimum value to -7.0

adjust your maximum value to 7.0

make sure your scale factor is x1

then test
"M" 2013 SHO PP: AJPTurbo E30 Tune, GH Intercooler, PPE Downpipes, Dicunzolo Gen2 Trans Mounts, UPR Catch Can, K&N Drop In, H&R Springs, Power Stop Brakes, Curva Concept C7's. 

"The Go Cart" 2013 Focus ST: AJPTurbo Flex Fuel Tune, Megan Racing Downpipe, Boomba BOV, and Short Shifter.

Offline Gjkrisa

  • Elite Member
  • : Fairbanks, AK
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 906
  • -Received: 186
  • Posts: 794
  • Ecobooster
    • Photos
Re: Torque PIDs...Take 2
« Reply #769 on: May 22, 2019, 10:17:30 AM »
All built-in Torque Real Time Monitoring gauges work.

The AWD one throws a number, but why is it always at 50.4?

Attached is a pic of the Knock PID.

Thanks !
I see that's for knock and your main issue was with awd I believe just making sure your scale factor is 1x should fix the issue that's how mine is and works

Sent from my Pixel 2 XL using Tapatalk

2016 Taurus SHO pp Shadow Black
diy emblems,jms boost max, FORscan modder

Offline ecoboostsho

  • Forum Supporter!
  • Elite Member
  • : Minneapolis, MN
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 183
  • -Received: 239
  • Posts: 935
  • Ecobooster
Re: Torque PIDs...Take 2
« Reply #770 on: May 22, 2019, 10:55:06 AM »
All built-in Torque Real Time Monitoring gauges work.

The AWD one throws a number, but why is it always at 50.4?

Attached is a pic of the Knock PID.

Thanks !
If the previous suggestions don't work just delete your equation and temporarily put in an A for your equation. You should at least get a value back that is non scaled. That will help narrow down the problem for me...

Sent from my Pixel 3 XL using Tapatalk

2013 White SHO w/PP, Tune with AJP in progress, 3 Bar, 160T, Plugs...Mess with the Bull and you'll get the Horn. :)
 Previous 2011 Tuxedo Black SHO w/PP - 12.89 1/4 Mile

Offline jman

  • Full Member
  • : Ontario
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 25
  • -Received: 25
  • Posts: 79
  • Ecobooster
Re: Torque PIDs...Take 2
« Reply #771 on: May 22, 2019, 11:15:15 AM »
I changed the scale limits and verified that all PID's are set at x1. Still no luck.
I'll try deleting the equation and report back,

Here are some additional pics and also the Bluetooth thingy I am using. As you can see, built-in Torque ones do work.

« Last Edit: May 22, 2019, 11:20:13 AM by jman »

2010 - Unleashed Tune - Corsa Exhaust - 275/40-R20 - H&R Springs

Offline jman

  • Full Member
  • : Ontario
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 25
  • -Received: 25
  • Posts: 79
  • Ecobooster
Re: Torque PIDs...Take 2
« Reply #772 on: May 22, 2019, 05:02:07 PM »
If the previous suggestions don't work just delete your equation and temporarily put in an A for your equation. You should at least get a value back that is non scaled. That will help narrow down the problem for me...

Sent from my Pixel 3 XL using Tapatalk

Replaced the Knock equation with an A, same response when tested: NO DATA.


2010 - Unleashed Tune - Corsa Exhaust - 275/40-R20 - H&R Springs

Offline ecoboostsho

  • Forum Supporter!
  • Elite Member
  • : Minneapolis, MN
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 183
  • -Received: 239
  • Posts: 935
  • Ecobooster
Re: Torque PIDs...Take 2
« Reply #773 on: May 22, 2019, 05:05:54 PM »
If the previous suggestions don't work just delete your equation and temporarily put in an A for your equation. You should at least get a value back that is non scaled. That will help narrow down the problem for me...

Sent from my Pixel 3 XL using Tapatalk

Replaced the Knock equation with an A, same response when tested: NO DATA.
Okay well then something isn't communicating with the car properly or the pid is wrong somehow for your car. It looks like it but that is "zero" in the 2203EC correct? It's been a long time since I messed with torque pro (I use obdlink) so I don't think it matters but try a capital EC just for fun. Also what is in your header field?

Sent from my Pixel 3 XL using Tapatalk
2013 White SHO w/PP, Tune with AJP in progress, 3 Bar, 160T, Plugs...Mess with the Bull and you'll get the Horn. :)
 Previous 2011 Tuxedo Black SHO w/PP - 12.89 1/4 Mile

Offline jman

  • Full Member
  • : Ontario
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 25
  • -Received: 25
  • Posts: 79
  • Ecobooster
Re: Torque PIDs...Take 2
« Reply #774 on: May 22, 2019, 05:12:42 PM »
Yes, two, two, zero, three.
I've tried uppercase before, it auto turns back to lower case.
Header is blank.
« Last Edit: May 22, 2019, 05:14:29 PM by jman »

2010 - Unleashed Tune - Corsa Exhaust - 275/40-R20 - H&R Springs

Offline ecoboostsho

  • Forum Supporter!
  • Elite Member
  • : Minneapolis, MN
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 183
  • -Received: 239
  • Posts: 935
  • Ecobooster
Re: Torque PIDs...Take 2
« Reply #775 on: May 22, 2019, 05:31:00 PM »
Yes, two, two, zero, three.
I've tried uppercase before, it auto turns back to lower case.
Header is blank.
Okay just checking. Try using AUTO in the header. If that doesn't work I'm stumped unfortunately. I would try a different app just to see if it's something weird in your Installation of torque.

Sent from my Pixel 3 XL using Tapatalk

2013 White SHO w/PP, Tune with AJP in progress, 3 Bar, 160T, Plugs...Mess with the Bull and you'll get the Horn. :)
 Previous 2011 Tuxedo Black SHO w/PP - 12.89 1/4 Mile

Offline jman

  • Full Member
  • : Ontario
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 25
  • -Received: 25
  • Posts: 79
  • Ecobooster
Re: Torque PIDs...Take 2
« Reply #776 on: May 23, 2019, 07:12:50 AM »
Neither the "A" or the "auto" fixed it. :(
Weird thing is that the AWD does return a value (steady 50.4) but all others don't.

When I was playing with Forscan I read that the 2010 doesn't have a BCM (or cannot be accessed), could this be why?

2010 - Unleashed Tune - Corsa Exhaust - 275/40-R20 - H&R Springs

Offline ecoboostsho

  • Forum Supporter!
  • Elite Member
  • : Minneapolis, MN
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 183
  • -Received: 239
  • Posts: 935
  • Ecobooster
Re: Torque PIDs...Take 2
« Reply #777 on: May 23, 2019, 07:47:24 AM »
Neither the "A" or the "auto" fixed it. :(
Weird thing is that the AWD does return a value (steady 50.4) but all others don't.

When I was playing with Forscan I read that the 2010 doesn't have a BCM (or cannot be accessed), could this be why?
Well on the 2010-12 there is a smart junction box (SJB) on the MSCAN bus and not a BCM on the HSCAN bus.  First your adapter has to have the ability to speak MSCAN (medium speed CAN bus) and second Torque can't (to my knowledge) access both the MSCAN bus and HSCAN bus at the same time.  That said if I recall correctly the AWD gauge is actually reading the AWD module (not a SJB or BCM) and that is why the header needs to be "761" for that gauge. 
2013 White SHO w/PP, Tune with AJP in progress, 3 Bar, 160T, Plugs...Mess with the Bull and you'll get the Horn. :)
 Previous 2011 Tuxedo Black SHO w/PP - 12.89 1/4 Mile

 

* Featured Topics

* Recent Topics

Re: What have you done to your Ecoboosted vehicle today?
by shoNoff | August 20, 2019, 08:31:22 PM
Eventually I wanted to purge bc it looks cool lolI'll let you do ...
Re: bpd1151's 2010 SHO Rebuild Thread....
by limited02 | August 20, 2019, 07:44:22 PM
Wow! My pants just got really tight... ...
Re: Random thoughts for the day
by bamsho | August 20, 2019, 04:50:15 PM
Thanks Z, your the best....
Has anyone used Zurich for warranty coverage?
by MKS Tom | August 20, 2019, 02:11:19 PM
https://www.zurichna.com/en/claims/vehicle-ownersI'm mainly wonde...
Re: Rougher ride under lower RPMs and off throttle input
by MKS Tom | August 20, 2019, 11:44:02 AM
Even stranger is going back to stock seems to get rid of most of it.&n...
Re: Splitter
by sm105k | August 20, 2019, 10:41:40 AM
Its going to look awesome on a 13+!!I like being a the guinea pig.&nbs...
Re: MSD coils ..Any benefit or negatives ?
by shoNoff | August 20, 2019, 10:40:47 AM
I've got about a week on a lightly used MSD set that I picked up ...
Re: SM105K's Ownership/Performance/Maintenance Thread
by sm105k | August 20, 2019, 09:28:00 AM
Oh yeah in a couple revisions it'll be perfectHave a couple of th...
Re: Gearhead Intercooler Review
by mrhighcaliber | August 20, 2019, 04:14:08 AM
Wow!!! Very nice.Hopefully the phenolic spacers will be created for ou...
Re: Phelonic Spacers
by Davidsiebert2 | August 20, 2019, 04:00:05 AM
Iím in ! And I have a buddy with a 16 sho thatís in. My question would...
Re: "How-To" PTU Fluid Exchange - glock-coma
by Macgyver | August 19, 2019, 09:02:45 PM
Someone cracked one the other day right near the drain plug. Cant reme...
Re: 2020 Explorer ST tuning now available
by Blackhawk | August 19, 2019, 08:31:48 PM
Impressive for sure, I have a 3.0t in my 2017 Lincoln MKZ.  Do yo...
Are you organizing a car show?
by RockAuto | August 19, 2019, 09:56:54 AM
RockAuto would love to work with your upcoming event by providing prom...
Re: Yet another failure
by polskifacet | August 19, 2019, 07:44:59 AM
I hope everything worked out well with that RDU! ZYes sir it's gr...
Re: Best way to reduce voltage from 14v to 12v?
by 6500rpm | August 18, 2019, 10:42:54 AM
Still waiting for a response from Dan at Daytime BrightLite. The modul...

Back to top