June 19, 2019, 07:57:24 PM
collapse
collapse

Author Topic: Torque PIDs...Take 2  (Read 277029 times)

Offline jman

  • Full Member
  • : Ontario
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 24
  • -Received: 24
  • Posts: 75
  • Ecobooster
Re: Torque PIDs...Take 2
« Reply #765 on: May 22, 2019, 08:40:33 AM »
I was recently looking for a way to detect knock and was pointed to this awesome thread. I followed the instructions and installed four of the custom PID's. Most don't work and the AWD one throws a constant value. What am I missing?
I have not read all 51 pages of this thread, do these work on the 2010 SHO?

Attached are pics of what I am seeing and what I get when I "test" the Knock PID.

2010 - Unleashed Tune - Corsa Exhaust - 275/40-R20 - H&R Springs

Offline ecoboostsho

  • Forum Supporter!
  • Elite Member
  • : Minneapolis, MN
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 170
  • -Received: 237
  • Posts: 934
  • Ecobooster
Re: Torque PIDs...Take 2
« Reply #766 on: May 22, 2019, 08:47:44 AM »
I was recently looking for a way to detect knock and was pointed to this awesome thread. I followed the instructions and installed four of the custom PID's. Most don't work and the AWD one throws a constant value. What am I missing?
I have not read all 51 pages of this thread, do these work on the 2010 SHO?

Attached are pics of what I am seeing and what I get when I "test" the Knock PID.
It should definitely work on a 2010 Taurus. I'm assuming you can get the standard gauges (say like (RPM) to respond? I just want to make sure your adapter is actually talking to the car properly.  Also can you send a screenshot of your custom pid screen in Torque? Just close that error message window for starters.

Sent from my Pixel 3 XL using Tapatalk

2013 White SHO w/PP, Tune with AJP in progress, 3 Bar, 160T, Plugs...Mess with the Bull and you'll get the Horn. :)
 Previous 2011 Tuxedo Black SHO w/PP - 12.89 1/4 Mile

Offline jman

  • Full Member
  • : Ontario
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 24
  • -Received: 24
  • Posts: 75
  • Ecobooster
Re: Torque PIDs...Take 2
« Reply #767 on: May 22, 2019, 09:10:28 AM »
All built-in Torque Real Time Monitoring gauges work.

The AWD one throws a number, but why is it always at 50.4?

Attached is a pic of the Knock PID.

Thanks !

2010 - Unleashed Tune - Corsa Exhaust - 275/40-R20 - H&R Springs

Offline SM105K

  • Elite Member
  • : Arizona
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 430
  • -Received: 440
  • Posts: 576
  • Land Yacht Pilot
Re: Torque PIDs...Take 2
« Reply #768 on: May 22, 2019, 09:22:28 AM »
Jman,

adjust your minimum value to -7.0

adjust your maximum value to 7.0

make sure your scale factor is x1

then test
2013 SHO PP: AJPTurbo E30 Tune, GH Intercooler, UPR Catch Can, H&R Springs, Power Stop Brakes. Tune Only: 12.56@108.98, 391HP and 470TQ

2013 Focus ST: Ford Racing Tune, Boomba BOV, and Short Shifter.

Offline Gjkrisa

  • Elite Member
  • : Fairbanks, AK
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 901
  • -Received: 184
  • Posts: 790
  • Ecobooster
    • Photos
Re: Torque PIDs...Take 2
« Reply #769 on: May 22, 2019, 10:17:30 AM »
All built-in Torque Real Time Monitoring gauges work.

The AWD one throws a number, but why is it always at 50.4?

Attached is a pic of the Knock PID.

Thanks !
I see that's for knock and your main issue was with awd I believe just making sure your scale factor is 1x should fix the issue that's how mine is and works

Sent from my Pixel 2 XL using Tapatalk

2016 Taurus SHO pp Shadow Black
diy emblems,jms boost max, FORscan modder

Offline ecoboostsho

  • Forum Supporter!
  • Elite Member
  • : Minneapolis, MN
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 170
  • -Received: 237
  • Posts: 934
  • Ecobooster
Re: Torque PIDs...Take 2
« Reply #770 on: May 22, 2019, 10:55:06 AM »
All built-in Torque Real Time Monitoring gauges work.

The AWD one throws a number, but why is it always at 50.4?

Attached is a pic of the Knock PID.

Thanks !
If the previous suggestions don't work just delete your equation and temporarily put in an A for your equation. You should at least get a value back that is non scaled. That will help narrow down the problem for me...

Sent from my Pixel 3 XL using Tapatalk

2013 White SHO w/PP, Tune with AJP in progress, 3 Bar, 160T, Plugs...Mess with the Bull and you'll get the Horn. :)
 Previous 2011 Tuxedo Black SHO w/PP - 12.89 1/4 Mile

Offline jman

  • Full Member
  • : Ontario
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 24
  • -Received: 24
  • Posts: 75
  • Ecobooster
Re: Torque PIDs...Take 2
« Reply #771 on: May 22, 2019, 11:15:15 AM »
I changed the scale limits and verified that all PID's are set at x1. Still no luck.
I'll try deleting the equation and report back,

Here are some additional pics and also the Bluetooth thingy I am using. As you can see, built-in Torque ones do work.

« Last Edit: May 22, 2019, 11:20:13 AM by jman »

2010 - Unleashed Tune - Corsa Exhaust - 275/40-R20 - H&R Springs

Offline jman

  • Full Member
  • : Ontario
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 24
  • -Received: 24
  • Posts: 75
  • Ecobooster
Re: Torque PIDs...Take 2
« Reply #772 on: May 22, 2019, 05:02:07 PM »
If the previous suggestions don't work just delete your equation and temporarily put in an A for your equation. You should at least get a value back that is non scaled. That will help narrow down the problem for me...

Sent from my Pixel 3 XL using Tapatalk

Replaced the Knock equation with an A, same response when tested: NO DATA.


2010 - Unleashed Tune - Corsa Exhaust - 275/40-R20 - H&R Springs

Offline ecoboostsho

  • Forum Supporter!
  • Elite Member
  • : Minneapolis, MN
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 170
  • -Received: 237
  • Posts: 934
  • Ecobooster
Re: Torque PIDs...Take 2
« Reply #773 on: May 22, 2019, 05:05:54 PM »
If the previous suggestions don't work just delete your equation and temporarily put in an A for your equation. You should at least get a value back that is non scaled. That will help narrow down the problem for me...

Sent from my Pixel 3 XL using Tapatalk

Replaced the Knock equation with an A, same response when tested: NO DATA.
Okay well then something isn't communicating with the car properly or the pid is wrong somehow for your car. It looks like it but that is "zero" in the 2203EC correct? It's been a long time since I messed with torque pro (I use obdlink) so I don't think it matters but try a capital EC just for fun. Also what is in your header field?

Sent from my Pixel 3 XL using Tapatalk
2013 White SHO w/PP, Tune with AJP in progress, 3 Bar, 160T, Plugs...Mess with the Bull and you'll get the Horn. :)
 Previous 2011 Tuxedo Black SHO w/PP - 12.89 1/4 Mile

Offline jman

  • Full Member
  • : Ontario
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 24
  • -Received: 24
  • Posts: 75
  • Ecobooster
Re: Torque PIDs...Take 2
« Reply #774 on: May 22, 2019, 05:12:42 PM »
Yes, two, two, zero, three.
I've tried uppercase before, it auto turns back to lower case.
Header is blank.
« Last Edit: May 22, 2019, 05:14:29 PM by jman »

2010 - Unleashed Tune - Corsa Exhaust - 275/40-R20 - H&R Springs

Offline ecoboostsho

  • Forum Supporter!
  • Elite Member
  • : Minneapolis, MN
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 170
  • -Received: 237
  • Posts: 934
  • Ecobooster
Re: Torque PIDs...Take 2
« Reply #775 on: May 22, 2019, 05:31:00 PM »
Yes, two, two, zero, three.
I've tried uppercase before, it auto turns back to lower case.
Header is blank.
Okay just checking. Try using AUTO in the header. If that doesn't work I'm stumped unfortunately. I would try a different app just to see if it's something weird in your Installation of torque.

Sent from my Pixel 3 XL using Tapatalk

2013 White SHO w/PP, Tune with AJP in progress, 3 Bar, 160T, Plugs...Mess with the Bull and you'll get the Horn. :)
 Previous 2011 Tuxedo Black SHO w/PP - 12.89 1/4 Mile

Offline jman

  • Full Member
  • : Ontario
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 24
  • -Received: 24
  • Posts: 75
  • Ecobooster
Re: Torque PIDs...Take 2
« Reply #776 on: May 23, 2019, 07:12:50 AM »
Neither the "A" or the "auto" fixed it. :(
Weird thing is that the AWD does return a value (steady 50.4) but all others don't.

When I was playing with Forscan I read that the 2010 doesn't have a BCM (or cannot be accessed), could this be why?

2010 - Unleashed Tune - Corsa Exhaust - 275/40-R20 - H&R Springs

Offline ecoboostsho

  • Forum Supporter!
  • Elite Member
  • : Minneapolis, MN
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 170
  • -Received: 237
  • Posts: 934
  • Ecobooster
Re: Torque PIDs...Take 2
« Reply #777 on: May 23, 2019, 07:47:24 AM »
Neither the "A" or the "auto" fixed it. :(
Weird thing is that the AWD does return a value (steady 50.4) but all others don't.

When I was playing with Forscan I read that the 2010 doesn't have a BCM (or cannot be accessed), could this be why?
Well on the 2010-12 there is a smart junction box (SJB) on the MSCAN bus and not a BCM on the HSCAN bus.  First your adapter has to have the ability to speak MSCAN (medium speed CAN bus) and second Torque can't (to my knowledge) access both the MSCAN bus and HSCAN bus at the same time.  That said if I recall correctly the AWD gauge is actually reading the AWD module (not a SJB or BCM) and that is why the header needs to be "761" for that gauge. 
2013 White SHO w/PP, Tune with AJP in progress, 3 Bar, 160T, Plugs...Mess with the Bull and you'll get the Horn. :)
 Previous 2011 Tuxedo Black SHO w/PP - 12.89 1/4 Mile

 

* Featured Topics

* Recent Topics

Re: What have you done to your Ecoboosted vehicle today?
by 5ohSHO | Today at 07:08:46 PM
Ah ok.  Yeah the flowers tend to be on the "softer" sid...
Re: 2010 Lincoln EBAP Photos
by Black Dream | Today at 06:35:32 PM
I test drove a 2011 Red version that had the exact same interior as yo...
Re: Glad to be here
by Black Dream | Today at 06:27:40 PM
Our poor dead G is being slowly parted out.  She was not my daily...
Re: Center caps on flowers
by 76fomoco | Today at 06:22:32 PM
you must have been without wheels at your location and or no batteries...
Re: Water in passenger floor
by Agentlongwood | Today at 05:48:48 PM
After all that, it didn't fix the leak lol.  It looks like m...
Re: battery terminal
by GhostlyGrenade | Today at 04:10:04 PM
Well I ordered a new battery as well as the updated rear trans mount. ...
Motircrafts SP-542 Spark plugs!
by ZSHO | Today at 03:14:45 PM
FYI- I noticed there is much interest in the SP-542 PLUGS and will be ...
2019 SHO Convention - Alternative Has Been Announced!
by SHOdded | Today at 02:53:36 PM
Since the official 2019 Convention is not happening, an alternative co...
Re: Gearhead SHO/Flex Intercooler Install Video
by Leadfoot | Today at 10:53:16 AM
I recalibrated my SHO, unfortunately with a MKS/Flex hybrid calibratio...
Re: Random thoughts for the day
by SHOdded | Today at 05:58:42 AM
Bulk shipping is expensive from the dealership.  But different de...
Re: Gearhead Intercooler Review
by avidmotion | June 18, 2019, 05:28:15 PM
....Me too....      :)...
Re: Power per mod discussion
by Black Dream | June 18, 2019, 03:31:45 PM
I could be wrong but I think he meant a Coors Light.........
Re: 2013 SHO Throttle Body Adjustment Screw Leaking?
by SHOdded | June 18, 2019, 08:57:10 AM
A nice little side project :D...
Re: R134a capacity
by Three Lions | June 18, 2019, 07:34:28 AM
Thanks guys. Most appreciated...
Re: Hotpipes, Meth Bungs and Nozzles
by shoNoff | June 18, 2019, 07:11:45 AM
I got lucky mine still had just enough sticking out so I could grab it...

Back to top