• Welcome to Ecoboost Performance Forum. Please log in or sign up.
collapse

Possible spark blowout?

Started by TouchOfEvil, October 26, 2013, 04:17:53 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

TouchOfEvil

This is my first FI vehicle to own "explorer sport" so i'm new to it but i believe i am getting spark blow out.
I can't tell if it does it in first because the gear is short and it wheelhops insanely bad on the 1-2 shift.

In second gear and third "didn't get into fourth" the car feels like it is sputtering, i could hear what sounded like pop pop pop then i let out. It is a little colder tonight than it had been. The coldest i had seen was 63 degrees tonight when i left it was 55 degrees and it did the stutter and pop thing and it got down to 46 degrees and of course the problem did not go away at any point.
I am running stock plugs but they were gapped from the factory at .30, i did check them to verify the gap.
I'm in louisiana so i'm sure my climate and da are way off compared to anyone up north.
Does this sound like spark blowout? Or is it something else?

Current mods are as follows:
Drop in k&n filter
170 t-stat
3rd cat delete
magnaflow x-pipe with mufflers
livernois 93 hi boost tune

Any help would be great.
2014 XSport

mhenne4

Not sure, but where are you at in Louisiana?  Im in Shreveport
2011 Silver SHO with PP
LMS Stage 4+

05yellowgt

Spark blowout is going to feel like the motor is intermittently lose power and if you can monitor boost you will see it flutter in some cases too. Detonation is the marbles in a can sound coming from under the hood. I would also describe it as a static sound on an otherwise quite phone line or radio station.
2010 Ford Flex Limited w/Ecoboost- SOLD
2013 F150 FX4 Supercrew 6.5ft bed Ecoboost w/3.55

EcoPowerParts

I saw your pm but I just got done ruining a wrestling tourney.  I'd suggest doing some review with torque if you have a obd2 adapter

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Tapatalk

Mike B | info@ecopowerparts.com