• Welcome to Ecoboost Performance Forum. Please log in or sign up.
collapse

HOW-TO: 3.5L EcoBoost Change plugs / Trying out Brisk spark plugs

Started by Ecoboost_xsport, September 08, 2020, 03:26:44 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Ecoboost_xsport

This is sort of a how-to on how I do my plug changes as well as getting away from the FoMoCo SP-542 and trying out a different plug.  It remains to be seen how well it will work out for me, but I will definitely keep you guys updated.

So on the advice of a pretty good local tuner, I decide to try out some Brisk spark plugs (Brisk Racing).  There wasn't necessarily anything wrong with the 542s I was running, but with the power goals and modifications I am shooting for, I wanted to attempt one additional step colder of a plug (OEM was 534s, heat range 6, 542s are range 7) by going heat range 8 to see if I can squeeze some timing out of her.  Although I have limited personal experience with Brisk, a lot of top shops and tuners use these things.  I did some research and on the advice of that local tuner, decided on trying out the Silver Racing plugs (hey, it has Racing in the name, so it MUST be good, lol).  They are heat range 8, which is 2 steps colder than OEM and it remains to be seen if I can get a bit more timing out of these or if they will just foul out.  Oh, and they are Made in the USA so that's a plus, right?

First thing is getting those connectors off the coils.  Slide back the red clip on the coil connector, it's easy enough with a small flat head screwdriver:

Then just press the clip retainer and slide off the connector.  After disconnecting that, use an 8mm socket to remove the coil retaining bolt, then pull out the coil. Even though I only complete one cylinder at a time so as not to confuse things, I still typically mark the coil with a sharpie identifying which cylinder it came from.